Return to Headlines

Waco ISD Board opts to fill vacancies by appointment

During their May business meeting, Waco ISD trustees decided to fill two vacancies on the school board by appointment. Trustees had the option of calling a special election in November but wanted to fill the vacancies before the board begins reviewing applications from candidates to become the district’s next superintendent on June 24.

“The decision about Waco ISD’s next superintendent is easily one of the most important decisions that this board will make,” newly elected board president Angela Tekell said. “Every neighborhood, every family deserves to be represented on the board when we make that decision. Filling these vacancies by special election would have left the seats vacant until long after the superintendent search has concluded.”

Individuals interested in being considered for an appointment to either the at-large seat representing the entire school district or to the position representing Trustee District 3 should submit a letter expressing their interest no later than May 31. Letters can be emailed to or sent to the board’s attention at 501 Franklin Ave, Waco, TX 76701.

To be eligible to be appointed, a person must be a United States citizen, be 18 years of age or older, have resided continuously in Texas for the past 12 months, and have been registered to vote for the past six months in the area that he or she will represent. Maps of Waco ISD and Trustee District 3 can be found online at

The board will hold a special meeting on June 3 to review letters from individuals interested in one of the appointments and has tentatively scheduled a meeting for June 5 to interview selected candidates. The board could make the appointments at their meeting on June 20.

The individual appointed to fill the at-large vacancy will be appointed to serve until May 2020 when a special election will be held for the final year of that position’s three-year term. 

The individual appointed to fill the Trustee District 3 vacancy will be appointed to serve until May 2020 when that term expires and voters will elect someone to a new three-year term representing that district.