Return to Headlines

2019-2020 Senior Academic Achievers - University High School

Each year, Waco ISD highlights and celebrates its highest-achieving students at the Academic Achievers Banquets held in the spring. Although schools remain closed for the remainder of this school year, these dedicated students - specifically our seniors - have earned an impressive honor and deserve recognition for this outstanding accomplishment. 

These annual banquets recognize the sophomore, junior and senior students who earn a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 96.5 or higher. The first year a student qualifies as an Academic Achiever, they receive a letter jacket in recognition of the hard work and dedication put toward their education. Those students earning the award in subsequent or multiple years are awarded additional letter “bars” that are added to their jacket. 

Congratulations to University High School’s Senior Academic Achievers Class of 2020! 
The following list includes the students' names and where they plan to attend college upon graduation.

  • Julia Antonio (McLennan Community College)
  • Nancy B. Mar (Texas A&M University)
  • Daniel Benavides (University of Mary Hardin-Baylor)
  • Daniel Carreon (McLennan Community College)
  • Cassady Copas (Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences)
  • Yazmine Cruz (University of Mary Hardin-Baylor)
  • Beronica De Los Rios (University of Mary Hardin-Baylor)
  • Laura Diaz (The University of Texas at Arlington)
  • Joel Galan Jr. (Texas A&M University)
  • Valeria Guerrero (Baylor University)
  • Jalissa Jaral (University of North Texas)
  • Betzabel Jimenez-Gonzales (McLennan Community College)
  • David Juarez (Tarleton State University)
  • Jolyssa Lewis (The University of Texas at Arlington)
  • Liliana Lira-Vaquera (The University of Texas at Arlington)
  • Larisa Lira-Vaquera (The University of Texas at Arlington)
  • Daiaudrea London-Ridge (The University of Texas at Austin)
  • Mercedez Luna (The University of Texas at Austin)
  • Arlene Maldonado (McLennan Community College)
  • Felicia Marquez (University of Mary Hardin-Baylor)
  • Luiz Martinez (Hardin-Simmons University)
  • Janie Mercado (McLennan Community College)
  • Lander Miskolczi (Texas State Technical College)
  • Diana Ortega (Texas State Technical College)
  • Ivette Padron (University of North Texas)
  • Estefania Pizano (Houston Baptist University)
  • Lluvia Ramirez (Texas A&M University)
  • Maria Regalado (Texas A&M University)
  • Hannah Ruby (Texas A&M University)
  • Luz Tenorio (McLennan Community College)
  • Jasmine Thompson (Tarleton State University)
  • Alannah Thornton-Sabido (Texas A&M University)
  • Leonardo Vazquez Olguin (Texas A&M University)
  • Leslie Vivanco (Texas A&M University)

University High School Senior Academic Achievers Video

The banquet to honor the University High School Senior Academic Achievers was originally scheduled for Tuesday, April 21 at The Phoenix Ballroom.