Waco ISD honors 25 educators as Teachers of the Year



Twenty-five educators were honored Tuesday night at Waco High School’s Performing Arts Center as the 2017-2018 Outstanding Teachers of the Year on their respective Waco ISD campuses. 

The classroom leaders were selected by their colleagues and principals to receive their awards, which included a $250 check for each of them from the Paul and Jane Meyer Family Foundation. 

The award winning teachers, who collectively have 259 years of experience in the classroom, were selected based on a number of factors including their professionalism representing their campus and a passion to be an excellent educator. Principals also consistently saw a mutual respect between the teachers and their co-workers, and obvious growth in knowledge and self-confidence of their students. 

Two of the teachers honored will be named District Teachers of the Year this Spring, receiving $1,000 checks from Insurors of Texas (elementary schools) and Richard Karr Motors (secondary schools). Central National Bank will also give the Waco ISD Principal of the Year $1,000 for their outstanding work. 

Each of those winners will then be entered in the Region 12 competition for further accolades.

Waco ISD would like to thank Englander dZignPak, McLennan Community College, Pendley Party Productions, Peter Piper Pizza and Child Nutrition Services, Sodexo for their support of Tuesday night’s event.

Waco ISD honors 25 educators as Teachers of the Year
Posted on 12/06/2017

Alta Vista Elementary Hannah Rawles
Alta Vista Elementary

Bell's Hill ElementaryBarry Horst
Bell's Hill Elementary

Brook Avenue ElementaryGuadalupe Zuniga
Brook Avenue Elementary

Cedar Ridge ElementaryGrecia Chavira
Cedar Ridge Elementary

Crestiview ElementaryMia Guillen
Crestview Elementary

Dean Highland ElementaryShamekia Carpenter
Dean Highland Elementary

Hillcrest PDSSarah M. Weatherly
Hillcrest PDS

J. H. Hines ElementaryMatthew Brewster
J. H. Hines Elementary

Kendrick ElementaryJill Kolinek
Kendrick Elementary

Lake Air Montessori MagnetTara L. Vaughn
Lake Air Montessori Magnet

Mountainview IB ElementaryAmanda Diane Krainz
Mountainview IB Elementary

Parkdale PDSGlory M. Rivera
Parkdale PDS

Provident Heights ElementaryAngelica Olvera
Provident Heights Elementary

South Waco ElementaryStephanie J. Satchell
South Waco Elementary

West Avenue ElementaryBrittany Sanders
West Avenue Elementary

Cesar Chavez Middle SchoolSamantha Cubbage
Cesar Chavez Middle

G.W. Carver Middle SchoolDiane Buxkemper
G.W. Carver Middle

Indian Spring Middle SchoolCraig Emmett
Indian Spring Middle

Tennyson Middle SchoolKevetta Williams
Tennyson Middle / Atlas

Brazos High SchoolErin Whitley
Brazos High / Credit Recovery Center

University High School1st Sgt. Leonard Montelongo Jr.
University High

Waco High SchoolScott Taylor
Waco High

G.L. Wiley Opportunity CenterVicki Owens
Wiley Opportunity Center

GWAMAAngie M. Fetsko
Greater Waco Advanced Health Care Academy

Greater Waco Advanced Manufacturing Academy