Waco ISD Trustee Larry Perez Elected to MASBA

Waco ISD Trustee Larry Perez Elected to MASBA
Posted on 04/18/2016

WACO, Texas  –  Waco Independent School District Trustee Larry Perez was elected to serve as a director of the Mexican American School Board Members Association (MASBA) at its annual conference February 18-20, 2016, in San Antonio, TX.  Mr. Perez, who represents District 3, Place 3 on the Waco ISD Board of Trustees, was elected to serve a three-year term on the 15-member MASBA Board of Directors.

mapThe MASBA Board is comprised of six MASBA Regions which represent the 20 Texas Education Agency (TEA) school district regions. Two board members from each MASBA Region are elected to serve a three-year term with the exception of the one-year executive office positions of vice president, treasurer and secretary.  The offices of president, president elect and immediate past president, along with the 12 MASBA Regional Board Members, comprise the 15-member MASBA Board of Directors.  

The 2016 MASBA Board includes: MASBA Executive Board Members 
Irene Rodriguez (President, Big Spring ISD, Region 18), Armando Rodriguez (President-Elect, Canutillo ISD, Region 19), Mario Ybarra (Vice President, Lubbock ISD, Region 17), Servando Garza (Treasurer, Alice ISD, Region 2), Shane Haggerty (Secretary, Ysleta ISD, Region 19), Louis Q. Reyes III (Immediate Past-President, Seguin ISD, Region 13); and MASBA Board Members Larry Perez (Waco ISD, Region 12), 
Raymundo Martinez (Hidalgo ISD, Region 1), Willie Tenorio (Hays CISD, Region 13), Anna Cortez (Manor ISD, Region 13), Viola Garcia (Aldine ISD, Region 4), Manuel Rodriguez (Houston ISD, Region 4), David Espinosa (Grand Prairie ISD, Region 10), Homero Garcia (South Texas ISD, Region 1), and Orlando Flores (Fabens ISD, Region 19).  

Larry PerezMexican-American  School Board Members Association 2016 President Irene Galan-Rodriguez praised Perez on his commitment to MASBA.  

“MASBA is grateful for your service and input, your experience and dedication is invaluable for the growth and advancement of MASBA as an organization and making positive changes for the students of our school districts throughout Texas,” Galan-Rodriguez said. 

As a Waco ISD Trustee, Perez represents a district with a Hispanic-Latino student population of 59 percent (8,914) out of the 14,946 students the district serves (Waco ISD 2015-2016 Fall PEIMS data), compared to the Region 12 and state of Texas, which each have a Hispanic population of 52 percent (2014-2015 Texas Performance Reporting System).

The MASBA is committed to helping school board members come together to find solutions, discuss legislature and current affairs as it relates to education. Texas school districts are experiencing an unprecedented growth and in many cases may lack the understanding and resources associated with ensuring the most appropriate and effective curriculum implementation, as it directly relates to Hispanic students. Therefore, MASBA has created a specialized, targeted conference held annually, which offers Texas school board members the opportunity to receive cutting edge training and information which will assist and equip them to better perform the duties and responsibilities of their positions.  The association is certified by the Texas Education Agency (TEA) to provide required training for which board members receive their required continuing education (CEU) credits.

The MASBA is a 501-c-3 non-profit organization that advocates for quality public education for all students in the state of Texas. Members include school districts, their board members, trustees, administrators and education service centers. The mission of the Mexican American School Board Members Association is to: make high quality education possible to all students, increase parental and community participation in public governance, improve academic achievement, and advocate equitable school finance.

Larry Perez is a retired postal worker who was first elected to the Waco ISD Board of Trustees in 2002. His term expires in May of 2017. For more information about the Mexican-American  School Board Members Association, contact Kurt Hixson at MASBA.PR@gmail.com.


Mexican-American School Board Members Association 2016 Executive/Board  of Directors, Board Oath of Duty Ceremony at the MASBA 2016 Annual Conference: Homero Garcia (South Texas ISD), Mario Ybarra, (Lubbock ISD, MASBA Vice President), Orlando Flores (Fabens ISD), Manuel Rodriguez (Houston ISD), Shane Haggerty (Ysleta ISD, MASBA Secretary), Larry Perez (Waco ISD), Viola Garcia (Aldine ISD), Anna Cortez (Manor ISD), Servando Garza (Alice ISD, MASBA Treasurer) and Willie Tenorio (Hays ISD). Front Row: Irene Galan-Rodriguez  (Big Spring ISD, MASBA President) and Louis Q. Reyes III (Seguin ISD, MASBA Immediate-Past  President). Not pictured: Armando Rodriguez (Canutillo ISD, MASBA President Elect) and David Espinosa (Grand Prairie ISD). The Oath of Duty was conducted by Mr. Kevin O’Hanlon (pictured at podium) of O’Hanlon Law.

MASBA logo