TSPRA Members Honored with 2013 Star Awards

TSPRA Members Honored with 2013 Star Awards
Posted on 02/24/2014
AUSTIN (February 24, 2014) – Texas School Public Relations Association (TSPRA) members from across the state received honors from the association for their outstanding work in education communications earning Gold Star, Silver Star, Bronze Star, Best of Category, Certificate of Merit, Crystal Commendation and/or Platinum awards. The awards were announced at TSPRA’s annual Star Awards Celebration held February 19, 2014 at the Omni Southpark Hotel in Austin, Texas during the association’s 52nd annual conference.

This year the Klein Independent School District won the top Platinum Award for its entry “Klein ISD 75th Anniversary...A year long celebration”. A full list of winners will be available on TSPRA’s website at http://www.tspra.org/awards/star-awards/star-awards-archive on February 25, 2014.

Each year, TSPRA recognizes communicators in school districts, education foundations, education associations and organizations for their work in print and electronic media categories. There are 45 main categories covering various media such as newsletters, programs, posters, reports, writing, image/identity packages, photography, graphics, video, electronic presentations, mobile apps, campaigns and web sites. Larger, more comprehensive projects and special programs are entered in one of seven Crystal Commendation categories or the Platinum Award category. The Platinum Award honors a year-long project that exhibits the highest standards of excellence in all facets according to research, analysis, communication and evaluation.

This year 1,062 entries were received. For the first 45 categories, the entries are divided into three divisions based on the number of students the district, foundation or organizations serves - under 10,000 students; 10,000 to 30,000 students; and over 30,000 students. Independent judges, not affiliated with TSPRA, evaluate and score each entry based on its own merit. Bronze, Silver and Gold Stars are awarded based on set criteria. Finally, the judges review their highest scoring Gold Star winners and select a Best of Category for each division in each of the 45 categories.

Crystal and Platinum entries are not split into divisions and there is only one Crystal winner in each category. For the first time, judges were permitted to award a Certificate of Merit to Crystal entries that deserved some recognition, although not the main award. The Crystal categories are: Bond Elections; Parent Involvement/Volunteer Programs; School/Community Partnerships; Staff/Student Recognitions; District/Association Special Events/Celebrations; Foundation Special Events/Celebrations; and Foundation Annual Campaigns. No Bronze, Silver or Gold Stars are awarded in the Crystal categories.

Of the 1,062 entries this year, the judges awarded one Platinum Award, two Platinum Certificates of Merit, six Crystal Commendations, eight Crystal Certificates of Merit, 101 Best of Categories, 504 Gold Stars, 323 Silver Stars and 190 Bronze Stars. Since TSPRA members enter only their best work, it is not uncommon for there to be very few entries that do not earn any type of award.

The Texas School Public Relations Association (TSPRA) is a nonprofit, professional organization dedicated to promoting public schools through effective communications. TSPRA, an award winning chapter of the National School Public Relations Association (NSPRA), was chartered in 1962 and incorporated in 1977. With more than 850 members, TSPRA is comprised primarily of public information and communications professionals who serve the public school districts and education organizations of Texas. The membership also includes superintendents, administrators, principals, web/technology/electronic media and graphic professionals, education foundation executive directors and their boards, association executive directors, school consultants, vendors and others who support public education in the state. TSPRA provides professional development, resources and networking opportunities for members and others in the education community.

For additional information contact the TSPRA state office at 512-474-9107; info@tspra.org

TSPRA Star Awards 2013

Awards Presented to Waco ISD

Category 16 - Image/Identity Package


  • 2012 H-E-B Celebrity Cook Off Identity
    • Amber George

Category 25 - Advertisement - Other


  • "Every Day Ready to Learn"
    • Amber George

Category 30 - Video - Promotional Marketing


  • H-E-B Celebrity Cook Off PSA
    • Jesse Botello, Dale Caffey, Amber George

Category 32 - Video - Sports Event


  • Waco High vs University High
    • Jesse Botello, Dale Caffey

Category 39 - Web Site


  • Education Foundation Website
    • Skip Filgo, Amber George